Feeding My Need to Do a Good Deed

A few years ago, I read that poorly-written book Rich Dad Poor Dad, and took away one useful bit of advice that went something along the lines of getting your investments/expenses to pay for themselves. Well, in the past 6 months, I’ve developed a minor addition to charitable giving. In fact, the whole reason I started blogging was to sort out my thoughts and feelings about this (different blog, see sidebar).

You see, I have a problem giving away my hard-earned money, especially when my income is so variable and not “hedged” by a partnership (i.e. marriage). In September, I came up with an idea to support this new habit: offer my professional massage services 1-2x a week during off-peak hours at a huge discount, and send 100% of the donation to charities of my choice. This is money I would not other wise make at times of the day when I almost never have business. During my personal economic slowdown this past week, I put together a website/blog to defray any worries about what the heck I’m offering (it’s Thai massage, and some folks think that’s a euphemism for sex!).  I advertise the deal on craigslist, and we all know what a sleazy place that can be. Thus a little web presence is necessary, especially if I’m going to appeal to any women – who, sad to say, are in greater need of massage than most men thanks to heavy tote bags, cute shoes and breasts. No joke.

So I donate my time, plus I match tips over the minimum donation. I’ve been doing this for about 7 weeks and have raised $485, of which $70 came out of my pocket for tip-matching. It’s been such a great mood-lifter during these uncertain times.

3 Responses

  1. Website looks good..it also contains humour which is a good thing.
    I think it’s great that you are doing this for charity, and trying not to sound patronising, well done.

  2. That is so awesome, MMKate! It’s a creative fundraising method and you’re putting your skills to great use. God bless.

  3. @Laura – Thanks! Glad to put that ol’ MSc in Linguistics from the University of Edinburgh to some use (would you believe my dissertation was on writing for the internet?)

    @Shtinky – Can’t believe it took me this long to figure it out. I kept looking for ways to “donate” my services, maybe train to help sex crime victims to overcome touch issues, that sort of thing. But no dice. Then I figured that what most charities need is MONEY, so this is what I came up with. I’ve done 6 so far, and only one asswipe. Not too bad.

Leave a Reply

