Boring Birthday Present

My youngest sister (not the one who’s getting married), “Starfish” **, is turning 29 in a few days, and I just can’t bring myself to buy her crap she doesn’t really need and will probably lose within a month. She has also recently felt her first real motivation to get a real career, and is planning to take pre-requisites for an Associates degree in nursing (following in Engaged Sister’s footsteps) at the local community college. So I’m planning to give her Anatomy & Physiology I for her birthday/Christmas present. It seems kind of lame, but I just can’t bear the thought of giving her a purple iPod that she wants just because it’s purple.

I’ll be giving it to her in the form of a handmade “gift certificate”, because she’s not even enrolled yet. And if she changes her mind and doesn’t enroll, I’ll know by Christmas and can rethink gift-giving then. Now if only I could think of a way to make the presentation more entertaining, bearing in mind that she lives 1733 miles away and her birthday is Saturday.

I’d like to come up with more ideas like this for the rest of my family for Christmas. I’m just not in the mood for conspicuous consumption, but I still want to show them some Santa love.

** She earned the nickname Starfish by regrowing parts that have been surgically removed. To be specific, a mole on her chin, and then 3 cup sizes worth of breast ($8K for reduction surgery, wasted).

2 Responses

  1. You could give her the purple last generation iPod shuffle refurb for $50. It’s on the website right now–I just got one for my niece.

  2. Oh wow…if she doesn’t get the iPod from someone else, I’ll definitely get this for her. The price of a course at the college she’s interested in is just $180, and I do want to spend more than that on her B’day + Christmas. I was planning to stuff her stocking with purple things just to torture her…which I know she’d get a kick out of. It can even be household stuff like shampoo and air freshener, because she lives in Aspen where this stuff costs a bomb and rarely goes on sale. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

