I’ve Been Tagged? Me? I’m IT?

Um…I feel like the new nerd on the block hovering on the outskirts of the In Crowd, so how did I manage to get Tagged by the illustrious Crystal at Brunette on a Budget?? She’s, like, a real live professional financial writer chick and everything, so I’m suffering a serious bout of “we’re not worthy”-itis. I mean, I’ve been in the blogosphere for a whopping 5 weeks. Oh, the pressure!

Apparently, there are Rules for this tagging gig…

1. To link the tagger and provide the rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blogs.

****************************************************************************

Seven things about MoneyMateKate

  1. People (esp my sisters) think I’m CIA Black Ops because I live in Manhattan, have a master’s in linguistics and speak a bunch of languages, am ranked in three martial arts, go to the Middle East for “vacation”, can drive a Mini Cooper off-road, have two passports, and claim to be a massage therapist – a job that explains the comings and goings of strangers at odd hours of the day and night.
  2. I used to be 2 lbs shy of “morbidly obese” (100+ lbs too many) and am now merely “overweight” (less than 30 lbs of excess adipose). Sometimes I wish I could slip on the fat suit and be invisible again.
  3. I’m not registered to vote. I tell people it’s because all politicians eventually disappoint you, and this way I can always say, in an obnoxiously superior tone, “well, I didn’t vote for him!”…but really it’s because I don’t want to be called up for jury duty and (legitimately, because I’m self-employed) claim financial hardship as my reason for getting out of it.
  4. I am actively acquiring “Action Hero Skills”, so that I’ll be prepared if the need should ever arise for me to save the day. This winter, I will be adding cross-country skiing and pistol shooting to my repertoire. The last two skills I added are CPR (6th time getting certified) and camel-riding.
  5. I’ve lived in the USA (homeland), the Phillippines (as a child), Scotland, Spain and Japan.
  6. I have never done an illegal drug. Having said that, I intend to go eat my first (and probably only) hash brownie on my 80th birthday. If “herbs” are legalized in the USA before then, I’ll do it on my 70th.
  7. I divorced a Scotsman 11 years ago because I couldn’t deal with his fetish. And he was otherwise boring.

Tag – You’re IT!!!

I’m a little nervous about tagging, since I don’t really know the etiquette for stuff like this. I’ll give it a shot, but I’m only going to tag 4 and hope they don’t mind:

* Dog Ate My Finances
* Shtinkykat @ Shtinkykat’s PF Blog
* FruGal @ A Frugal’s Musings On Money
* Sistah Ant @ The Hustle of Sistah Ant

The other three I’ll identify without actually tagging are Pants In A Can, Punny Money and Crunchy Chicken.

12 Responses

  1. Hi there-thanks for sharing all these insights on yourself!! 2 passports-wow! Anyway, have a great weekend!

  2. Oh brother… Well, it gives me something write about today, right?

  3. Like, OMG!!!!!!! I am extremely envious of your accomplishments in life. I have always wanted to know more than one language, but am stuck with English. ha! And you’ve lived in all these places. And adding to your already super hero skills… that is so neat that you Make it happen. You sound like a wonderfully neat person. 🙂

    So, tell me. How do you do it? What secret personality trait do you render to make your life as a super hero?

    And Happy Halloween! Have a blast!

  4. @Sharon Rose – yeah, that boring, fetishy ex-husband was Scottish, and I lived there for 7 years (only married half that time though). For my sins, I earned dual citizenship.

    @brainy – you’re only tagged if you want to be. I was too shy and insecure to officially tag you (but I enjoy the hell out of your blog).

    @Moneyfunk – I’m actually a contemplative, late-bloomer type (I’m 38). Whenever I find myself letting fear of failure or ridicule get in the way…and this is going to sound pretty wackadoo…I tap into the person I was at age 6 (optimistic, adventurous, unafraid) or 11 (decisive, subtly rebellious, in love with travel).

  5. your young age mantra is BRILLIANT. I am 37 (oh I hate to say that) and have yet to live out my ‘dreams’. I believe your are going to be a great inspiration to me. Now for my dilemma, how to do it when I have 2 others to support. Hmm… Well, I can always hit the library for a foreign language tape. : – )

  6. You are a legend!

    Thats what my kids call someone who is amazing 😉

  7. Congratulations!!! I just discovered you yesterday myself and have been enjoying the heck (I’m cleaning this up) out of your blogs. You are extremely impressive if I do say so myself. And I had just put you on my website too! (see section on finance)

    I haven’t had time to read everything you wrote yet but I’m working on it!

  8. P.S. He only had ONE fetish? seriously lol…!

  9. @Moneyfunk – hey, I’m 38. I’d say I’m halfway through my list, but it’s a fluid thing so who knows. Having kids makes it more difficult but not impossible. When I was doing some continuing ed in Thailand, there were several mothers traveling and learning with their kids in tow. Oh, why couldn’t my parents have been like that!!

    @Laura – I definitely like “legend” better than “weirdo”, which is what I was called for wanting to do all this stuff, but before I did it. Heh.

    @Catmom – the fetish was a real doozy. Even though no participation was necessary on my part, I’m reluctant to divulge what it was because most folks figure I must have a freak streak too. But really, I was just 23 when I got married and, to my detriment, am not a snoop. Despite living together for 5 months beforehand, he didn’t share his fetish secret until the honeymoon.

  10. I was teasing you. It was obviously a doozy!

  11. Thanks for the tag, honey! Those are some wild facts!

    I have some crazy dude trying to out my real life identity, so I try to avoid giving too many details. Love your blog!

  12. Thanks for the tag, I’m touched! Love your facts… have to start thinking about this now…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

