I hope we don’t export Dr. 90210

I’d like to state for the record that I don’t watch this drivel – I just listen to it as part of the whole “TV as company” thing for us live-alone-and-work-from-home types. But I will admit that I do watch some programming in E!, namely The Soup and Chelsea Lately, and then just don’t bother changing the channel.

For those who don’t know Dr. 90210, it’s a reality show about a Hollywood plastic surgeon whose patients are mostly airheads looking for boob jobs and face lifts. Okay fine, whatever sells advertising. But one of today’s reruns featured a personal moment that made me cringe with disgust at the perfect storm of shallowness and materialism.

It was some woman’s birthday or wedding anniversary, and her husband makes this big presentation in front of the party guests about giving her a piece of jewelry she had craved since they were poor (by which I’m quite sure they meant middle-class). The birthday girl started her sidebar commentary with something like “I couldn’t believe it! It was such a symbol of -”  Well, I thought she was going to say “of what a thoughtful and generous man I married, that he remembers a single piece of jewelry I wanted X years later”. But nooooo, she said “of how far we’ve come in our success and lifestyle”.

Oh, PUKE. I really hope this show isn’t televised outside our borders.

3 Responses

  1. I’m ashamed to admit I watch this show on occasion. But it’s for the same reason I rubber neck while driving past a horrible accident too.

  2. I saw that episode last night with the super rich doctor and her doctor husband “realizing how successful they’ve come”. I laughed.

  3. The SOUP is awesome like crazy! I’m totally addicted…i love it how Joel will try and switch out the usual “it’s reality show clip time!” haha…like when he whispers it or screams it so that you have NO idea what he just said. unless you’re an addict. like me.

    Hooray for tv!

Leave a Reply

