I spoke too soon about my rent

Warning: adult language ensues.

I’m pretty sure I’ll be moving. I’ve been here 5 years and I really don’t want to leave, but the bastards are proposing a rent raise of 7.2%. That’s $150. Maybe he offered that thinking I’ll settle for a $100 raise as I have in the past, but I’m NOT FUCKING STUPID.

So it’s time to get my ducks in a row…line up my aunt as guarantor again, check all of my credit reports, and take the plunge. The market moves so fast here that I can’t even start looking yet – for a Feb 1 move-in, there’s no point looking before Christmas.

I’m pissed. And sad. And now I’m going to take a hot bath and think of all the things I don’t like about living here. That might take a while, because this place is pretty perfect. We’re talking Prune City.

3 Responses

  1. I’m really afraid of this.

    I’ve only been in my apartment for a year (in February), and I love it. I’m not ready to move again (I moved twice the year before!). But the rent is already more than half my take-home pay, and if the landlord raises it more than $50 a month or so…I just won’t be able to afford it. My raise this year won’t even cover that.

    My boyfriend and I have been talking about moving in together, but this would be a little too soon, and for the wrong reasons.

  2. Ugh, that sucks! 😦

    Our landlord has already raised the rent on us twice – the first time was BEFORE we moved in; he had a ton of applicants and got greedy and asked if we would move in for $50 more than what was advertised (we said yes b/c the place was large, and had everything we wanted), and then he raised it by $100 when we renewed our lease after 12 months. I assume there’ll be (at least) another $100 increase come next summer. 😦 I freaking hate rent raises. And also hate the fact that there are so many crap apartments out there!

  3. $150/month increase? That IS f’in bogus. Moving out does seem like the most prudent thing to do. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

