Seriously trashed Thanksgiving

…and I don’t mean that in an alcoholic way.

I have been violently ill since 7am. My sublettors, thank god, aren’t due until 8pm, but I doubt I’ll be any better by then. I can hardly stand up and keep it together long enough to wash a few dishes, no less prepare the rest of the apartment (change bedding, set up airbed, stow my crap, vacuum, etc). I’ve got about 30 minutes until I start feeling like hell again…let’s see how much I can get done before I go another losing round with the porcelain titan.

And then there’s the matter of how to get to my mother’s in NJ. She won’t come get me, and even if I puke gracefully into a plastic bag on the train, they’ll toss me off at the next stop if I’m reported. Which I will be, because it’s that bad. I’m toying with the idea of claiming morning sickness in the evening – after all, they wouldn’t eject a pregnant woman, would they? Personally, I think that lie is pretty genious of me. Unethical, sure, but I’m out of options. There are two people who might let me crash at their place, but I just can’t risk passing this bug on – especially not to someone who really is pregnant, and due in 6 weeks.

Let’s not forget I have a fridge full of perishables that need to get dropped off at that homeless teen shelter. Obviously they won’t be getting their string bean casserole for Thanksgiving, but I’m sure it won’t go to waste.

4 Responses

  1. I hope you feel better! 😦 It really sucks to be sick during the holidays…

  2. Ugh, that sucks! Sorry to hear, though the pregnancy bit was pretty genius. 😉

  3. Hi there-poor you, I do wish you a speedy recovery my dear!

  4. EWW.. hope you feel better 😦

Leave a Reply

