Bad Week To Have No Biz

I haven’t had any business since Saturday, and that has NEVER happened. The timing couldn’t be worse – I’m still waiting for a response from my lease manager/agent about the justifications for not raising my rent, and there’s a little part of me that hopes he says “no way, pay up” so that decisions about my short-term future are kind of made for me.

I woke up this morning with a headache, which the cacophonous concert of horns and sirens on the street did not help. Plus, some idiot probably looking for a hooker called at 7:50am (an hour or so before I normally get up) – I don’t answer blocked numbers, so I don’t know for sure, but I know the odds. So I laid in bed, pondering my 2009 in the morning gloom…what it would cost to run away for a few months, the logistics of what to do with my cell phone contract, my belongings, my health insurance (surely you don’t need to pay it up if you’re not even in the country??). But then, could I really come back and restart my little self-employed massage business and be able to pay the rent right away? Would I even want to?

So I got up, turned on the TV to catch the Opening Bell on CNBC – only to find that my cable has gone digital and I need some stupid $2.95 box. Pre-coffee, I hiked over to one of their distribution points set up especially for people like me (meaning those of us who didn’t bother reading the notices because we’re inured to “Important account information – Please read” printed on junk mail). It was raining, but at 61 degrees I wasn’t complaining. Too much. So I really wanted my breakfast, my coffee and my Excedrin…and a hug from my ex-whateverthehellhewas, whose building I walk past every freaking day, but that’s neither here nor there. And if I were to add some big things to that little list of wants, I’d throw in a rent reduction, and boom in business, and a free plane ticket to Nairobi for three weeks.

You know it’s bad when it’s the 10th of December and I haven’t even decorated for Christmas. Me, the family “Christmas Dork” and the “KTM”, laid low by financial humbuggery.

One Response

  1. Just hang in there 😦 It sounds like you’re going through a tough time, but we all get those blue periods.

Leave a Reply

