Rent: A stay of execution

guillotineI emailed my lease agent/manager this morning about option #3 from yesterday’s “Time to Bounce” post, and just got word that the consortium of owners has agreed to a 2-month extension at my current rent. YAY!!!

There is no doubt in my mind that I’m moving out – I wasn’t buying time just to keep this apartment as long as possible. I was buying time to see how my business is affected over the next few months, because I know my judgment is suffering from what I hope is the one-off influence of having next to no work this week. Plus, this puts my moving-out date around April 1, and April is a slow-ass month in my line of work for no reason I’ve ever been able to fathom, and it’s also marred by “spring fever” behavior even from my well-behaved regulars. In other words, a great month to take off and travel if I decide to stick it out in NYC but take a little hiaitus between leases just ‘cuz I can. And you never know, I might have a storming great idea how to make more money in the meantime 🙂

One Response

  1. I love that you can just take off like that. My other half works freelance and it’s been a pretty bad year, he’s worked 3 jobs (they only last maybe 3 days each) since July. He’s pondering changing careers. I can’t wait to see what you decide.

Leave a Reply

