Cheap Week in Aspen

This week’s vacation in the snowy playground of the rich and famous has been very budget-friendly, but not for the right reasons.

Brother “Six Figures” got High Altitude Pulmonary Edema, to the point where taking a shower or 3 stair steps caused all kinds of coughing spasms and 15 minutes of breathless hell. It was the blue lips, however, that won him an all-expense paid trip to the Emergency Room, where they determined that his oxygen saturation was dangerously low (70%). They sent him home 3 hours later with an oxygen tank w/nasal canula and an Rx for antibiotics in case the fluid build-up in his lungs was threatening pneumonia. But even before last night’s excursion to the ER, we were doing less than planned in order to keep an eye on him and not let him feel too left out. Lesson to be learned: Sea-level dwellers should NEVER EVER drink their faces off 8 hours after landing @ 8000 feet. Between dehydration, reduced organ function due to oxygen restriction, and a little flu bug from airplane travel, Six Figures put himself well into the danger zone. Had he been a less robust specimen, this could have resulted in a stroke.

Bridezilla has pretty big issues with anyone treating her to anything. My mom decided months ago that she would cover $300 towards the Christmas dinner tab as part of her gift to us (table of 8), and Bridezilla was annoyed by how often she brought this up and remarked on how the bill was lower than expected. Um, even I was a bit surprised even though I knew the manager was treating us to a selection of appetizers (fries drizzled with truffle oil and pecorino shavings, a charcuterie board, and something else I’ve managed to forget). Then her car battery died, and Mom & I decided to go halfsies on a new one…she got all insulted. Now everyone is putting me in charge of repaying her for little things (little to us, but a lot to someone who just graduated school and doesn’t have a job), like $20 for lunch wraps and stuff like that. I’m hoping to take her and her fiance out for a casual dinner tonight, but who knows if she’ll let me.

And I utterly failed as the KTM – for the first time in my life, I left the house without any cash on me, totally by accident. So Bridezilla had to lay out $10 for my shooting range permit. I also didn’t get 2 of my 3 action hero activity sessions because her fiance’s back was out and he couldn’t manhandle the snowmobile, and quite honestly it’s been too damn cold to even WANT to try cross-country skiing.

So other than the $80 I coughed up for the bus ticket and $60 towards Christmas dinner, I think I’ve spent about $15. I feel like a cheapskate…not sure if it’s because others picked up a couple of smallish tabs or if it’s residual guilt from spending a whole day with nothing in my pockets but a few dimes, literally.

2 Responses

  1. But maybe Bridezilla feels like everyone thinks she can’t take care of herself?

    Or maybe it’s a trick to get money and sympathy!!! Just kidding. 😛

    Fabulously Broke in the City
    Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver…

  2. OMG, I’m sorry to heard about the ordeal your brother and the family had to go through @ the ER. That was a really close one! It’s good that Bridezilla is not a moocher and it’s good that for once, you’re being taken care of MMK. Sounds like you had an eventful Christmas holiday!

Leave a Reply

