Inauguration Vacation: DC v. Nairobi

This is not a political post – it’s just a fun comparison of travel costs!

A few minutes ago, I had the dubious pleasure of listening to Montel Williams do the promo voiceover for some crappy set of Obama memorial coins, sounding as much like the president-elect as possible. For some reason, it got me thinking about BudgetsAreSexy’s post a few weeks ago about Washington DC locals pimping out their homes for the inauguration, and about a conversation I overheard in Aspen airport about shopping for an inaugural ballgown. It occured to me how much more original and meaningful it would be to witness it on live TV in Kenya, where Obama’s father was born.

So of course, I had to check out how the two destinations compare in costs for January 19-22…

Washington DC
Flight, direct from Chicago:  $388
3 nights at the Doubletree hotel in freaking Bethesda, MD:  $1677
TOTAL:  $2065

Nairobi
Decent (not cheapest) flight NYC-Nairobi:  $1254
3 nights at the Hilton in Nairobi:  $631
TOTAL:  $1885

So if you’re one of the many Americans out there who want a front row seat to history in the making, may I suggest Kenya for both atmosphere, authenticity – and a savings of $180? Heck, pick 2-star accommodation and make it a whole week for the same price!

2 Responses

  1. I’m not a very sophisticated traveler ,so I consider the travel advisories issued by the gov’t very carefully. The US Consulate warns that American citizens considering travel to Kenya should evaluate their personal security situation in light of continuing threats from terrorism and the high rate of violent crime. So, to me, the extra $200 and shorter travel time is worth it to celebrate in D.C. than Kenya. To braver and adventurous travelers, this would be a historic experience.

  2. I didn’t think that warning was still valid – I know they had some internal problems early this year following their elections. I see it as a good reason to stay in cheaper hotels (referencing the terrorist targets in Bombay here) and avoid Nairobi, which I hear is a scary dump. However, I doubt anyone is going to change their plans based on my blog, heh.

Leave a Reply

