Giving isn’t just a Christmas thing

Over the last couple of days, I’ve been accumulating bits and pieces to take to the runaway homeless teen shelter I’m strangely attached to. This morning, I got an updated wish list from them via yahoo groups and it’s a fair guess that the New York Food Bank is about to go under. Judging from the list, all they’re getting is cooking oil, rice, salad, and the odd canned good. You know it’s bad when even the cheap stuff (dry pasta, cereal) is on the list. So as a first step in the right direction of my re-commitment to getting in shape, I’m walking all over town to pick up the best deals and will lug a suitcase full of goodies (so far milk, eggs, bananas, chicken breasts, Cap’n Crunch, tangerines) down to the shelter this evening. I reckon I’ll clock up about 6 miles of walking in the process, woohoo – everyone including my life-of-its-own waistline benefits! Since I haven’t made a delivery in nearly 3 weeks, I’m doubling down on this one and then maybe doing another one later in the week (logistics of how much can fit in my wheelie suitcase – I refuse to take my huge baglady cart any further than the 10th floor laundry room!).

I know a lot of PF bloggers advocated donating to your local food bank/pantry over the holidays, but consider following that up with another contribution, even if it’s a fraction of last month’s. When the shelter director extends an open invitation for anyone to stop by with a bag of groceries and cook for the kids to give them a break from spaghetti and sauce (no meat, no cheese, no spices) or rice ‘n’ beans (no cheese, no salsa, etc), you know it’s crunch-time in every soup kitchen around.

3 Responses

  1. Oh, how I love your inspirational posts! Even quoted it on my resolution blog post. 🙂

  2. I dunno how it is out in NYC, but here in Botox Land, our food banks are able to purchase foods cheaper than average folks can buy them. So, I’m a big fan of just giving cash as well. Obviously, the shelter you take care of doesn’t have the same buying capacity, but I’m just throwing it out there. Muchas gracias for noting that the need is year-round.

  3. It works the same here, but I got a little involved with this shelter when looking for a good home for my unneeded CVS freebies (shampoo, deodorant, soap, shaving cream, etc). If the food banks were sufficiently funded, there wouldn’t be any food items on their wish list, but over the past few months, that has changed.

    I once temped at the NY Food Bank, for about 2 days (scary neighborhood, bad commute). The fact that they employ temps through an agency struck me as terribly wasteful, so I disapprove of the way they’re run. I mean, yes, they need paid staff, I get that, but they were paying an agency $40/hr for a $17/hr employee. That’s just wrong. I disapprove. I mean, my monthly contributions would cover one hour of such a person. So I’d rather support my local farmer’s market and pick up $1.50 eggs and 7/$1 tangerines and lug them downtown myself. Hmph.

Leave a Reply

