Dear United Airlines Customer Disservice

Shortly after I returned from my Christmas trip to Aspen, I called the United Airlines refund line. Someone in India took my details and informed me I’d be contacted in 2-3 business days. I figured I’d give them a bit longer because of New Year’s, but then yesterday my mother, who got the ball rolling on her refund a day after I did, got a follow-up email from United that was just about the most uninformative piece of garbage ever. It suggested she email their refunds department…which she had. She had called their refund line and then emailed refunds and customer relations (her situation is far worse than mine). In other words, they’re sending her in circles. So today I called their customer service number and chose the customer relations option, only to be told to call back later due to high call volume or go online – click. Oh joy.

I’m not a nice customer service emailer. It’s my chance to really give someone a piece of my mind without fear of retribution – they HAVE to be nice to me as long as I don’t curse, basically. So this is what they got, verbatim:

I contacted your Refund number 10 days ago regarding a flight you cancelled due to weather. I was told I would be contacted in 2-3 business days, and I’m still waiting.

When you reply, please delete the meaningless platitudes about how UA prides itself in their customer service. As if it’s not bad enough you changed my flights without informing me and your automated phone service told me to call back when you weren’t so busy, now you’ve ignored your Refunds process.

Rereading that now, I was WAY too nice.

2 Responses

  1. At least you started off nice with the platitudes. When honey doesn’t due the trick, bring out the big stick, baby! Awesome email, BTW.

  2. […] on December 30th and was told someone would be in touch in 2-3 days. I waited 10 days, then sent Customer Relations that snotty email last Thursday. Their reply consisted of “sorry to hear that, call or email […]

Leave a Reply

