Now they’re hooked on couponics too

I save my CVSing stories for this medium, because it’s boring to many and comes across as obsessive to most (I’m not, it ‘s just that I can mentally process numbers really fast). I haven’t had a really good go at the CVS system in about 3 weeks, and it turns out my mom is antsy to use her ECBs before they expire. She claims to be too embarrassed to go to the register five times per visit, but never has this problem when I’m there – she makes like she’s indulging her retarded daughter. Whatever, she loves it, she’s not fooling me. Then my best friend who took me CVSing in December asked me what crazy bargains I’ve gotten lately. I guess they miss my stories??

I was sort of planning to visit my mom in NJ next weekend to hit CVS and get my back adjusted for free, but now I’m not sure. I’ve got an 80% business 20% personal reason to stick around – a client whom I’ve been working on for about 6 months, and has had me over two Saturdays in a row in the middle of the night. It’s a huge chunk of money, totally worth sacrificing sleep and CVS for in and of itself…and then there’s the other 20%. Last week he offered a little “lite fun” afterwards, and I declined. We emailed back and forth during the week discussing pros and cons, and concluded it was not a smart move. Everything was fine during his massage last night until he mentioned that he was contemplating a vasectomy (he’s late 30s, never been married), and I cartoonishly flirted by saying that was soooo hot. So while I beat the crap out of his calves, he grilled me about my own decision to avoid parenthood. Now, he’s always been a chatty type during his sessions, but this wasn’t the usual witty banter. So that 20% personal reason is to find out if the third degree I got at 3am was curiosity or, um, an interview. I’m rooting for curiosity – too chicken to tiptoe through the field of landmines that comes with that territory. To bring this back to the general theme of personal finance rather than personal personal, I’ll admit that I’m intrigued to have stumbled across probably the only Wall Street shark who lives below his means. Now that’s really hot!

2 Responses

  1. What a story, your life is definitely interesting. And you managed to find a finance angle!

    I’m still trying to figure out the CVS game, I rarely see the free after ECB offers in my flier. When I do they are for $20 glucose monitors not $3 shampoo. Eventually I’ll figure it out.

  2. Miss M, in light of all the attention that Wall Street is getting for their business and lifestyle excesses, it’s nice to know that there are a few money managers out there who are fiscally responsible on the homefront, right?

    Your profile says you live in LA…not sure if your CVS flier is as bad as my Manhattan one – we only get 4 pages of discounts/deals when everyone else gets 16-24 pages. I time my visits to my mother in the burbs to coincide with a particularly good week for deals. Like last week, you could get a bottle of Garnier Fructis shampoo on sale for $2.99 and get 2 ECBs back…and the manufacturer puts $1 coupons in the Sunday coupon circulars about every other week. So it’s essentially free – it’s just a matter of you having existing ECBs to spend on it and have “replaced” with the new ones. The easiest products to get free on a regular basis are toothpaste, shampoo/hair products, and deodorant (especially Procter & Gamble products like Crest, Herbal Essences, etc). If you hate clipping coupons, most CVS stores accept internet printout coupons from reputable sites, so you can just check online when you see something in the flier that is cheap-but-not-quite-free with ECBs. I often do this for the things I really need, like Excedrin.

Leave a Reply

