Update: United Airlines Refund

What a bunch of dumbasses. I called the Refund line to initiate the whole process on December 30th and was told someone would be in touch in 2-3 days. I waited 10 days, then sent Customer Relations that snotty email last Thursday. Their reply consisted of “sorry to hear that, call or email Refunds”.

Then today I logged into my Citibank card to make sure I didn’t have that mysterious 25-cent charge I posted about earlier, and lo-and-behold, there’s my refund: $114.57. It was applied on January 1st. It would appear that the assortment of United Airlines customer service departments don’t communicate with each other OR with customers regardless of whether the news is good or bad. Therefore I refuse to feel bad about my snottiness.

6 Responses

  1. Ha ha. Typical of any mega-corporation. The right hand usually doesn’t know what the left hand is doing. Glad to hear you got the ‘funds though!

  2. That’s great. Last time I was due a refund from an airline I waited 9 months for the money. And it was for £800 – money I could have found good use for in the meantime!

  3. Ah, thanks for the chuckle. Love the letter and really glad you rec’d your refund. Did your mother recieve her refund, too?

  4. FruGal – that’s really awful. I’d have spent the whole 9 months wondering how to make a big corp pay what they owe. It’s pretty intimidating.

    MFunk – No, she hasn’t. Hers is less straightforward though because (a) her flight was a freebie as compensation for being bumped back in July, and (b) while also a cancellation, there was a huge, nasty customer relations issue (applying to about 100 people) surrounding the circumstances – it wasn’t a weather-related issue.

  5. Ha, that is so funny. I’m not surprised though, half the time Dept A doesn’t know what Dept B is doing. No wonder they are losing money, at least you got yours back!

  6. My name is Robert Nako,i make an reservation with United Airline on January25,2010.The confirmation#JTWT7W,but i got very sick and i call for a cancelation,so i did requested a refund of the money that the United Airline charged me on my credit card.They said to me,send us a note from the docter and we will send you the refund, the amount of the ticket $140.80us dollar,so i did send the note from the docter by mail.Please i am waitting for that refund.

Leave a Reply

