Have I struck bodywork barter gold?

A few weeks ago, I posted about getting a Rolfing session for my neck/shoulder problem and discovered that this is one market where demand outstrips supply even in this economy. One of the providers I inquired with actually teaches a program in NJ, but I didn’t see him because he wouldn’t answer my “what are your rates” question in an email. I don’t like it when personal service providers (massage therapists, personal trainers, pilates instructors, etc) aren’t up-front about their pricing.

After discovering his affiliation with that training program and seeing that he provided a free session for prospective students (which, honestly, I’m not comfortable taking a $100-$200 freebie from anyone), I contacted him again. He suggested exchanging Thai for Rolfing. This may happen tonight!! He’s located only a 5-minute walk from my apartment, and we’re going to see how my evening work schedule evolves. Needless to say, I’m extremely hopeful that he likes what I do so that this can be repeated because I did have some success from the treatment I had 3 weeks ago. The thing is, it only worked as long as I took ibuprofen all day afterwards, but I could tell it wasn’t just the ibuprofen…when I stopped, the pain increased over the next few days and now ibu barely takes the edge off. I feel like the Rolfing worked and the ibu prolonged/maintained its success. Honest to god, that week after my session was so delighfully pain-free, I want that again! But it’s hard for me to part with another $150 after my worst week of business EVER (yup, that was last week…not entirely unexpected, given the way Valentine’s Day coincided with a holiday weekend).

2 Responses

  1. So how was the Rolfing session?

  2. Ah, this is “real world” Rich, right? Immediate thoughts are that it wasn’t as good as the last one. This guy works too much (crams about 35 hours into 3.5 days), which I think is a significant part of it. He was nice enough to offer me a ride to the next 2-day workshop in NJ if I wanted ot take it. Of course, that probably means my classmates will think I’m doing the teacher!

Leave a Reply

