Saturday Night Linguistic Rant

I think the term “Recession” was coined in the 80s to avoid its sound-alike D-word. Now there’s an aversion to the R word and we’ve been given “economic downturn”. What an understatement! That makes it sound like a fiscal frown instead of the manic money panic it really is. I say “Down With Downturn!”

And while we’re at it, could we also ditch “put yourself out there”? I’m tired of people telling me it’s my fault I’m single because I don’t “put myself out there” – gee, thanks for the trite, unsolicited women’s magazine advice. I wasn’t bemoaning my status, and I’m especially appreciative that I don’t have any children – it’s hard enough worrying about my own survival during this Manic Money Panic, but for those who have more than just themselves to take care of…yowza.

3 Responses

  1. Re: Putting yourself out there

    “I’ll put myself out there… If you keep telling me that, I’m going to put my foot right up your… ”

    🙂 Just a thought.

  2. you can really hit the nail on the head. i’m now what used to be a vile word – spinster! i’ll have to look that up and figure out how they came up with such a goofy word in the first place!

  3. Yanno, you could really help your relationship downturn by putting yourself out there.

Leave a Reply

