I don’t want to die while making a living

Sometimes I truly hate those really scary news teasers that succeed in enticing me to watch their “real” news instead of The Daily Show. Most of the time it’s all hype no substance. However, there was one teaser tonight that made my heart flip-flop and scurry over to Google:  New York masseuse murdered in posh hotel.

I’m a massage therapist. I will see clients in their hotel rooms (they behave much better than New Yorkers!). And like this girl, I advertise on Craigslist.

But that’s where the similarities end, though I have to agree that there are already too many. First, the murder happened in Boston. I’m in Manhattan. Second, she’s a 26yo aspiring actress who “sounds like Paris Hilton” according to her friends. I’m a 38yo with a master’s degree in linguistics who has lived in 4 foreign countries, alone. Third, she did the kind of massage she was embarrased to tell her friends about. Ahem. I’ve been doing this for 6 years, have actually worked on my friends and family – and I specialize in a clothes-on style. Fourth, she puts photos in her craigslist ad. I put in a list of prohibited behaviors. Fifth, I’ve spent 8 years training in 3 different martial arts and can apply a blood-choke as well as any UFC contender. Plus, I don’t own a gun but I can shoot a pre-selected twig off a tree at 50 feet in a blizzard. And you would never guess it to look at me.

6 Responses

  1. Wow! That’s crazy. But, we can’t let the stuff in the news scare us out of our professions. If that were the case, banks would be out of business because everyone would be afraid they’d be robbed. I’ve been robbed twice, it’s not fun. In your case, you take all the right precautions and you’re really careful with the kinds of people you deal with, so I think you’re pretty safe, or as safe as one can be in this world.

    It is kind of scary, though when you read stories like this. Just hits close to home.

  2. Your ads on Craig’s List sounds very professional and not… ummm… a cover for adult services. And it sounds like you take precautions and you listen to your spidey senses if the client doesn’t seem right. Take care and be safe, MMK.

  3. I had trouble finding further details about this, maybe it had only just happened or something. I’ve always considered myself pretty safe in a hotel because the guy has no anonymity – he checked in, paid with a credit card, is on several security tapes, etc. I hope I can find some follow-up on this, so I can learn from it.

  4. I watched the local news this am (I live in that area of Mass) and the scary part is someone in Providence was also attacked and identified the person who attacked her as looking very similar to this guy It’s all over the local news this AM. I think they said the credit card was stolen, i think

  5. i’d just like to say that you are a total bad a$$! i love it.

  6. “Fifth, I’ve spent 8 years training in 3 different martial arts and can apply a blood-choke as well as any UFC contender. Plus, I don’t own a gun but I can shoot a pre-selected twig off a tree at 50 feet in a blizzard. And you would never guess it to look at me.”

    Why is it statements like this and not the couponing ninja skills that make me keep coming back to this blog? 😛

Leave a Reply

