New respect for our billionaires

Not that I’ve ever had a low opinion of them – in fact, the ones on this particular list don’t even get bad press. Or if they do, it’s so minor that I don’t even notice. But a couple of weeks ago, a whole bunch of the world’s richest secretly got together to discuss what they each think is the best way to manage their philanthropic efforts in this recession. The list of attendees included Bill Gates, Warren Buffett, Oprah Winfrey, Mike Bloomberg, George Soros, and a Rockefeller – those were the only names released, anyway. I wish I could have been a fly on the wall, the coffee pourer, or even the executive nose-wiper in that board room…my personal efforts are teeny tiny, and I’d love to know how those at the other end of the giving spectrum approach this. It also gives me a warm fuzzy feeling to know that these people, whose time is worth four figures a minute, thought that this was important enough to clear their schedules. Maybe they’re not just figureheads who sign the checks. Or maybe I’m just getting soft in my old age.

3 Responses

  1. this post made me smile 🙂 thanks.

  2. Kate, I think your efforts are GREAT and they are on a much more personal level, therefore the impact even more measurable than theirs. Plus, you are doing it because you care and not just for a tax credit(not that Im saying thats their only motivation).

  3. […] New Respect For Millionaires – MoneyMate Kate hears about a secret gathering among some of the richest people out there (think: Oprah, Bill Gates, Warren Buffett, etc). […]

Leave a Reply

