$50 Starbucks gift card will last me 10 years

I’m not a fan of Starbucks. Sometimes I wish I was because their stores are so attractive and popular and everybody else likes them so it’s an easy option, but I don’t like their coffee, I’m not a fan of Tazo tea, I don’t need or want their pastries…so I just tolerate it from time to time for group harmony¬†purposes. Okay, so I love their caramel apple cider, but I don’t need the 400 calories on a daily, weekly, or even monthly basis. It’s a once-a-year treat around Halloween.

This weekend, I treated my cousin and his wife to Thai massages (clothes on, so not creepy), and he felt too uncomfortable accepting $200+ worth of services so he gave me a $50 Starbucks gift card. I am probably going to lose this thing long before I use it up. Now, I understand there are websites where you can swap gift cards, but I wonder how easy it is to be conned with no recourse. So I figured I’d put it out there to my readers…

Have you ever used an online service to exchange gift cards?
If so, please share your experience in the Comments.

10 Responses

  1. hey . . . never tried the swap sites, but you could sell it on ebay fairly easily. Sell it for $40, ya know? Winners on both ends . . .

  2. I’ve never tried those sites but my boyfriend has. It worked great for him!

  3. I haven’t done a trade, but ebay/craigslist may be a good option.

    • eBay has ridiculous fees, and I checked craigslist – couldn’t find any indication that Sbux gift cards were commonly traded/bartered there.

  4. A lot of people really like Starbucks (or at least they did before). I remember starbucks gift cards going for almost full value on ebay.

  5. I came really close to using one, once. Never did, though, I don’t remember what I chose to do with the card instead. If you really want to get rid of it, though, my BFF loves the ‘bux and I’d give ya cash for it. Since we already know each other and all.

  6. lol but you guys had AMAZING deals on 8/2-8/9 with the free blink tears, free ELECTRASOLs, free soft soap, and even the free chocolate this week! =(

    i bought a whole bunch of coupons for the electrasol, softsoap, and free chocolate too so I was bummeddd. haha we’re getting the blink tears/electrasol deals NEXT week except the electrasol coupons expired yesterday…

    i don’t understand why the deals need to be different everywhere? first it was California & Nevada that had a different Ad, now Northern California and Santa Barbara, Southern California, have different ads?

    it is throwing me all off!

    and how do you not love caramel frappacinos from starbucks!? you crazy. lol =) their white chocolate drinks are good too.

    • I refuse to try those drinks because I know I’d like them too much – they’re, like, 500 calories and I don’t need something else to crave!

  7. I have sold numerous giftcards on ebay and they are so popular that they always sell and you can get about $40 for it!

  8. we regularly buy gift cards from giftcards.com at a discount and absolutely love it. their sister site, the one that buys the gift cards from people, is swapagift.com. personally, I’d rather regift or sell to/ trade with a friend. i hate losing money to commissions and interest payments, tho!

Leave a Reply

