Bye bye, landline – Hello, $70!

I’ve actively dithered over it for nearly a year, passively more several more than that, but when I checked my bank balance online yesterday and saw that the monthly price for my cable TV/internet/phone package had not so much crept as JUMPED up by $14 to $148, I got a little pissed and called RCN. Got chatting with a nice customer service lady in Pittsburgh – they’re gearing up for that G20 meeting next week so I shared my tales of snipers and sniffer dogs while she waited for the system to update my changes.

In the ridiculously fiddly “rules” for bundled services, dropping my landline would actually make my price higher – unless I kept my Mach 10 internet service instead of downgrading to the regular Mach 3 one. So by agreeing to that $10 premium, it somehow saved me $60 of the base price because I could retain assorted discounts. I grumbled something about, “yeah, plus all those stupid fees and surcharges and taxes”, so after suggesting that I cross the street and give our president hell for such things (what can I say, she was fun to shoot the breeze with), she mentioned that most of those dumb charges were associated with phone service, so that $68 price would not magically inflate to $90. In other words, not only am I saving over 40% on the base price, but I’m dropping disproportionately more on the taxation part of the bill. That should put my monthly bill between $75 and $80. I really thought I’d at best save $20, so of course I’m kicking myself for not doing this sooner. Ah well, at least it’s done now. I’m looking forward to keeping $70 more of my hard-earned money every month!

3 Responses

  1. Yes, that’s my phone bill too – $25 for services, $35 in taxes. I keep thinking about dropping it, but I live in a hurricane-prone area, and cell towers don’t always work after a hurricane (it was months before you could do anything but text after Katrina).

    Grats to you for taking the initiative!

  2. Wow, I don’t have a landline, haven’t for at least 4-5 years now. The way the cable companies are making the bundles cheaper than each individual service is ridiculous. I would probably be saving money overall if I made the jump to the ‘bundle’ of internet/tv/phone rather than just my internet/tv. I pay $110 for just those 2 services and I’m considering finding another company, as long as it’s cheaper of course.

  3. We only keep the landline because before you had to have both phone and internet service. Now they offer just internet and I’m thinking I should drop the landline. Due to some weird issue with the wiring in our walls, the phone doesn’t even work! It should save us a few bucks too, now if I could just stop procrastinating and get on with it!

Leave a Reply

