Secret Santa plans: Stuffed Christmas Stockings

Last week, my BFF met up with her freshman year roommate (I was her sophomore year roommate) for a happy hour on behalf of the non-profit her ex-roomie now works for – Services for the Underserved. Every year, they ask for donations of Christmas stockings with presents in them, or even just things that would make good stocking stuffers. My BFF knows I love donating and wrapping and finding a good home for the things I get for free, and gave me the email address of the person who handles this.

Of course, it’s a bit early in the year for all this, but upon establishing the non-profit’s clientele, I asked for 15 females, age 16+. The instructions unfortunately state “don’t wrap anything”, but I’m hoping that I can either enclose a specific list of contents and be allowed to wrap them, or I can do the wrapping in their office. About 3/4 of the items on the list of suggested stocking stuffers are the things I get for free, so now it’s just a matter of getting my hands on cheap stockings. Feel free to make suggestions that improve on the dollar store 🙂

9 Responses

  1. Looks like Amazon has blue stockings for $3: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000SRMT7W, if that fits your price range. I bet you could use Swagbucks-Amazon gift cards for it too! Great thinking, to get involved in Secret Santa stuff.

    • I got into all of this giving because people need help more than once a year. But I love Christmas!! I’m hoping that in a month or so, I might be able to pull off a bulk purchase on Amazon or somewhere else if I don’t find a solution before then.

      • Oh yeah, a bulk order would save you on shipping! Hadn’t thought about that. Well good luck Kate! 🙂 Let us know if we can help you in any way.

  2. I have been able to find the cute fabric for stockings on fairly deep discounts. It just takes a quick pattern cut out of newspaper and a few minutes on a sewing machine to make a stocking. If you know someone who loves to sew, you may be able to barter the stockings with free stuff. Bonus would be if they had a sewing machine that did embroidery on the custom stockings. Many SAHM’s have the time for this type of project.

    • I have a sewing machine but have yet to figure out how to use it. Maybe this will be the push I need.

  3. Craft stores usually have decent and inexpensive options. Try somewhere like Michael’s or AC Moore.

  4. I have three unused stockings that I am happy to give you. I work in midtown east. Let me know if you are interested. I admire what you are doing and am happy to help out!

    • Oh Beth, I’m totally going to take you up on this! I live/work in midtown (West 50s & 7th Ave), so it should be pretty easy to meet up. I need a good excuse to get walkin’ in the mornings.

  5. […] also scored a sale on Christmas stockings at the Dollar Tree. Remember how I agreed to put together 15 stockings for HIV/AIDS-affected women? Well, it looks like the Dollar Tree put last year’s cheap stockings on half-price discount, […]

Leave a Reply

